Trust

Psalm 9:10
And those who know Your name will put their trust in You;
For You, LORD, have not forsaken those who seek You.

Psalm 18:2
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;
     
My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; 
    
My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Psalm 31:14-15a
But as for me, I trust in You, O LORD;
I say, “You are my God.”
 My times are in Your hand;

Psalm 37:4-6
Delight yourself also in the LORD,

And He shall give you the desires of your heart. 
         
Commit your way to the LORD,
         
Trust also in Him, 
         
And He shall bring it to pass.
 He shall bring forth your righteousness as the light,
         
And your justice as the noonday.

Trust is one of those things that is both terribly hard and painful, and incredibly easy and freeing. When we fight trusting (in God), our little hearts cannot hold up. For we were not meant to be self-sufficient. (Romans 7:18) We cannot do it on our own. We were meant to rest in His arms and trust in His ways. (Is. 40: 28-31) Aaron Shust, a Christian singer who has ministered a lot to me, wrote a song called “Rest in the Arms.” The lyrics talk about going through hard and difficult things, and the chorus says this:
“You can rest in the arms of the one who holds you
Rest in the arms of the one who knows you
Rest in the arms of the one who won’t let go
Have no fear
I’ll be here.”

We can rest in the arms of our Father, trusting Him and His ways and His timing. It’s just a matter of letting go of our agendas and our opinions on how something should go. For me, it’s hard for my prideful self to admit that I’m not always right and to not be upset that I’m not going to always have what I want right this minute.

But on the flip side, when you lay yourself and your desires down, you can rest in peace that God has good plans for you, and He will work everything out for your good. I can’t wait to look back on my life in five years and see how things have played out in areas that I have trusted Him with. (It should be in every area, but I’m not quite there yet, I’m not sure if anyone really is. We should strive to trust Him with more and more.)

Even when the circumstances aren’t all the way we would have imagined, it doesn’t mean that God isn’t working. He is always teaching us (and the others involved in whatever situation) things. We must be open and receptive to His lessons.

When we take a leap of faith, we must remember that we are not jumping off a cliff without anything to bear us up, we are leaping deeper into the arms of the One who holds us. He will never forsake us. (Hebrews 13:5-6) He will not ask us to do something without giving us the strength to do it (if we continue to trust in Him.) (Phil. 4:19)

Psalm 18:30
As for God, His way is perfect;The word of the LORD is proven; He is a shield to all who trust in Him.

Here are the lyrics to a song about trust by Matt Hammitt. (Lead singer of Sanctus Real.) That has really helped me out a lot.

Lest I’m tempted to forget

I’ll tie Your love around my neck

I’ll write Your words upon my heart

Lord, I won’t forget how good You are

I’ll dwell upon Your faithfulness

I’ll rest within Your promises

And when I’m walking through the dark

Lord, I won’t forget how good You are

I will trust, I will trust You

I will trust You Lord with all my heart

And I won’t forget how good You are

No, I won’t forget how good You are

You gave me everything I have

My whole life is in Your hands

When what I fear is closing in

Lord, Your faithfulness will never end

I will trust, I will trust You

I will trust You Lord with all my heart

And I won’t forget how good You are

No, I won’t forget how good You are

Even in the darkness, even in the questions

Even when the hardest times of life are at hand

Even in darkness, even in questions

Even in the times that I’m not meant to understand
I will trust.

~Mamie’s Musings, 6/25/11

Leave a reply

