Character Friday – Elizabeth Bennet

I haven’t written anything all week! I guess I should fix that with a “Character Friday.”

I’ve complied a list of characters that I would like to investigate, and if you have any suggestions, please send them in! (Although I may or may not use them. :-D).

Well, since we watched Pride and Prejudice last night, I think that it is only fitting that a chose one of those characters. (we’ve been watching a lot of Jane Austen and Elizabeth Gaskell movies lately, so you might be stuck with this characters for a little while.)

How about Miss Elizabeth Bennet.

The first two pictures are from the 2005 version, and the last one from the 1995 version.

Normally we watch the longer, 4-5 hour A&E version of this story, which includes a lot more details, but last night we watched the shorter, movie theater version. Which I like for it’s beautiful cinematography. We saw this version in theaters back in 2005. It was my first time seeing a Jane Austen flick EVER! But onto the character herself….

Elizabeth frustrates me a bit. I would never say the things she did to Mr. Darcy. She makes quick judgments and believes the words of a man (Mr. Wickham) she hardly knows. She becomes quite prejudice against Mr. Darcy. I still wonder how in the world he fell in love with her. I suppose that he had never had any lady stand up to him as she did, and he liked it. When she discovers that it was he who discouraged Mr. Bingley from pursuing her sister, she is only further infuriated with him. She believes him very prideful and prejudice indeed.

Elizabeth is sensible in that she did not marry the creepy Mr. Collins just because it would secure the family estate. And her reasons for not accepting Mr. Darcy were because she thought him not a good man. Most girls would have jumped on him merely for his money. I do quite like her for that quality, although she was not gracious to Mr. Darcy and did not even try to see the good in him.

When Mr. Darcy proposes out of the blue, she is stunned and refuse him promptly, not giving him a chance to prove himself, and vowing that he is the last man on earth that she would marry. Her own pride and prejudice are running high.

Then, on a visit to Pemberley, the Darcy estate, with her Uncle and Aunt she sees all of his wealth. Some might think that her heart was changed by that, but it really began to change when she heard the words of his longtime housekeeper:

“I have never had a cross word from him in my life, and I have known him ever since he was four years old…If I was to go through the world, I could not meet with a better. But I have always observed that they who are good-natured when children are good-natured when they grow up; and he was always the sweetest-tempered, most generous-hearted, boy in the world….He is the best landlord, and the best master,” said she, “that ever lived. Not like the wild young men now-a-days, who think of nothing but themselves. There is not one of his tenants or servants but what will give him a good name. Some people call him proud; but I am sure I never saw any thing of it. To my fancy, it is only because he does not rattle away like other young men.” – The Housekeeper

Elizabeth’s opinion of him begins to change, and she reconsiders the judgments that she blindly made of him, especially as she learns the true story of Mr. Wickham.

The thing that completely convinced her of his true character is something he did in secret to save her family’s name from being completely ruined by Mr. Wickham and her silly little sister. She realizes once and for all that she has been wrong. Very wrong.

When Mr. Bingley returns to ask for her sister’s hand, (an area that obviously Mr. Darcy realized his error and changed his opinion as well.) Mr. Darcy again asks Elizabeth to marry him. She explains that she has had a change of heart and accepts most willingly.

At first, not even Jane believes that she is truly engaged to Mr. Darcy! Haha.

What is your favorite thing about Elizabeth and her development?

4 thoughts on “Character Friday – Elizabeth Bennet

  1. I think my favorite part of the book is after Elizabeth realizes that she judged Darcy wrongly and that the faults she saw in him were in herself. Sorta like realizing you have a log in your eye. 😉
    I loved seeing her develop that way, and the way Jane Austen wrote it really effected me as a reader because it made me see some of my own tendencies and faults. =)

  2. Thinking of a good reply….will post a comment later on that.

    In the meantime, can I say how much I LOVE your idea for “CHARACTER FRIDAY”‘s?!!!!!
    I so want to steal this idea…maybe I can do a Character Thursday, and pass that off as original? 😉 lol

    • I’m glad that I thought of “Character Friday” first! 😉 I’d love for you to do it too, I am sure that no one will notice that “Character Thursday” is remarkably similar to “Character Friday.” Hmm…. 😉
      Plus, maybe you can sometimes write guest posts for me! 🙂

Leave a reply

