Day One – A Favorite Song

On of my favorite songs….I don’t think that I have an absolute favorite song ever…Music is one of my favorite things, but one that has been very special to me during the past year is “While I’m Waiting” by John Waller.

Lyrics :
I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am hopeful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it is painful
But patiently, I will wait

I will move ahead, bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience
While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait

I’m waiting
I’m waiting on You, Lord
And I am peaceful
I’m waiting on You, Lord
Though it’s not easy
But faithfully, I will wait
Yes, I will wait
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve you while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You, Lord

God often brings us through seasons of waiting. While we’re waiting, we can do one of two things. either we can fret and fuss and worry. Or, we can proactively prepare for whatever is next, keep hope in our heart, and trust God to finish the work He has begun.

On this earth Christians are in a constant state of waiting. We wait for the moment that we shall see the beautiful face of our Maker in person. Doesn’t that send shivers down your spine?! I mean, to be to gaze into the face of Love? To be held by the Creator of the universe? I don’t think that it get’s any cooler than that.
This earth is only our holding cell. We are on our way to Heaven. So we will serve and worship while we’re waiting…

Psalm 27:13-14
I would have lost heart, unless I had believed
         That I would see the goodness of the LORD
         In the land of the living.   
 Wait on the LORD;
         Be of good courage,
         And He shall strengthen your heart;
         Wait, I say, on the LORD!

Psalm 37:8-9
 Cease from anger, and forsake wrath;
         Do not fret—it only causes harm.        
 For evildoers shall be cut off;
         But those who wait on the LORD,
         They shall inherit the earth.

Isaiah 26:8-9
Yes, in the way of Your judgments, 
      
O LORD, we have waited for You; 
      
The desire of our soul is for Your name 
      
And for the remembrance of You. 
  
With my soul I have desired You in the night, 
      
Yes, by my spirit within me I will seek You early; 
      
For when Your judgments are in the earth, 
      
The inhabitants of the world will learn righteousness.

James 5:7-8
Therefore be patient, brethren, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, waiting patiently for it until it receives the early and latter rain. You also be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.

P.S. John Waller has some other great songs. You should check out “As For Me and My House” on youtube.

One thought on “Day One – A Favorite Song

Leave a reply

