Day Three – a Favorite Book

I don’t know if I’ll get around to writing a “Character Friday” today, but I will write about day Three in the 30 day challenge – A Favorite Book

That is easy.
And I’m going to sound super spiritual saying it even though I’m not.

The Holy Bible.

I remember when I was younger, and thus, younger in my faith, that I would sometimes only say that the Bible was my favorite book because that is the only answer a Christian should give. I loved the Bible, and I loved God and was thankful for His salvation. But I perhaps hadn’t realized how great this book really is, and how much I need it. As I grew older, and the faith became more and more my own and I was faced with life, I found that this wonderful book actually was my favorite. It beats all others by light years. (And I am a lover of books, there’s no doubt about that. I just checked five out from the library on Wednesday and I’ve already finished two.)

The Bible is like a historical, mystery, suspense, poetry, romance novel all in one, and in all aspects but one.
It is True.
Truer than the blue sky and more faithful than the sunrise.
Because…”the word of God is living and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” – Hebrews 4:12

It is historical because it tells of the history of the world. This planet we sleep on, and the galaxies spinning around us. And of the creation of man. Of how God breathed life into dust and created you and me. And of how we sacrificed our purity for a piece of fruit. And of the struggle we have had ever since, as we long for our Deliverer. Long to be ransomed by One.

It is a mystery because God has hidden so many “clues” about Himself within it.

“Can you fathom the mysteries of God? Can you probe the limits of the Almighty? 
They are higher than the heavens—what can you do? They are deeper than the depths of the grave—what can you know? Their measure is longer than the earth and wider than the sea.” – Job 11:7-9
“Now to him who is able to establish you by my gospel and the proclamation of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery hidden for long ages past, but now revealed and made known through the prophetic writings by the command of the eternal God, so that all nations might believe and obey him—” – Romans 16:24-26

“Beyond all question, the mystery of godliness is great:
He appeared in a body,
was vindicated by the Spirit, 
was seen by angels,was preached among the nations, 
was believed on in the world, was taken up in glory.” – 1 Timothy 3:16

It is the glory of God to conceal a matter; to search out a matter is the glory of kings.” – Proverbs 25:2

God reveals Himself in this marvelous book, and we will discover more about Him if we dive in and search His Word.

It is suspenseful because there are many moments when we are held in suspense. Will Abraham really sacrifices his son? Will Queen Esther die for for going to the king without being summoned? Will Jesus be slain with all the other baby boys in Bethlehem? And many more such moments as these.

It is poetry because it holds some of the most beautiful poems and songs ever written. I’ve been reading in Psalms a lot lately, and feeling very refreshed. In family devotions, my father has been reading the book of Ecclesiastes to us, interesting stuff there. Plus many more poetic and prophetic books, including the beautiful Song of Solomon. (My parents LOVE to study the Song of Solomon, so I know more about it than your average girl.)

And finally it is a romance, not only because it tells many love stories of the various characters, but because it speaks of the greatest love story EVER! The story of the Bride and the Bridegroom, and the magnificent wedding feast that is coming. (Rev. 19:9) If fact, the entire book is about the Bridegroom’s love for us the Bride. (Jesus is the Bridegroom.) How wonderful is that?

And all these themes are tied together in a wonderful thing. Jesus came down and died an excruciating death for us.
For us.
He loves us that much. “This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us.” – 1 John 3:16a

All we have to do is repent of our sins, (which we were shown through the law, in the Bible) and believe and trust in Christ, and confess with our mouths that Jesus is Lord, then we shall be saved!!

So there you have it, my favorite book of all time.

There are times when I am bored with it, when I’d rather rush onto other things, when other books seem more exciting. But all in all, this is my favorite book. I am no where near the love for it that I want. Many others enjoy it more and are more dedicated to reading and memorizing it, but I press on, desiring to desire it more, and to immerse myself in the rich promises of my Father.

There is a line in a Wes King song that goes,
“I wanna read my Bible from cover to cover, line by line, over and over.
The more I read the more I find, and I begin to uncover stories just like mine.
I begin to discover that I wanna to read my Bible, that I wanna live my life, from cover to cover.”

That should be the cry of every child of God.

Leave a reply

