Day Six – A Moment You Wish You Could Relive

Day Six – A Moment You Wish You Could Relive.

Being the oldest of six children, I have had the wonderful experience of remembering the births of all five of my siblings.  Each time, my heart fluttered with excitement as my Dad took us down the hospital hall to meet our new sibling.  Usually the youngest, or should I say, former youngest child, got to hold the new baby first, so my anticipation had plenty of time to build as I waited for my turn. Meanwhile I took in every detail of the tiny miracle, who we had waited for for many months to see, and who was now FINALLY here with us face to face to be a piece of our family fabric forever.

Then the moment arrived.  The little brother or sister was placed in my arms.  Oh the sweet deliciousness of a baby only a few hours out of the womb!  They are warm and cuddly, and sleeping so peacefully.  Not once did my littlest sister open her eyes as her big sisters and big brother took turns passing her around.

It is one of the tenderest moments one can ever enjoy.  Holding any baby is a pleasure, but when it’s part of your own family, the feeling is enhanced ten thousand times over. I wish I could rewind time and enjoy it all over again.  I wonder how anyone could NOT believe in a Creator when they see the miracle of life so beautifully before them.

Psalm 127:3
Sons are a heritage from the LORD, 
 children a reward from him.

Here is a little song by Matthew West about the birth of a new baby and the things a family member might say as they hold them for the first time.  Just click on the link.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IEGDLJinzDE

Leave a reply

