Character Friday – Clark Davis

Character Friday – July 22, 2011

Tonight I am going to watch a British period piece with my sister a couple of friends.  We haven’t decided yet which one, but I think that I could safely say that I’ll find some character to write a “Character Friday” about.  But to be on the safe side, I think that for today I’ll chose somebody now, and get the writing done.

My first two “Character Friday” posts happened to be Jane Austen characters.  And while I love writing about those types of characters, I don’t want to bore everyone by writing about them every single time. 😉

So I’ll pick someone else.

Clark Davis, of Janette Oke’s book “Love Comes Softly.”


Character Qualities:
Kindness
Patience
Caring
Stability
Trust in God
Tenderness
Honor
Respect

I have learned so much from the story of Clark and Marty,  (another story that I wish I had written)  ever since I saw it for the first time several years ago.
If you don’t know the basics of the story, I’ll give them to you.

Young Marty Claridge and her husband travel west to claim a homestead.  The day after they arrive, her husband is killed in an accident.  Marty is left with no money, no house, and no way to get home. A man in the community, Clark Davis, presents her with a proposition.  If she will marry him (in name only) and come take care of his little girl, Missy, and teach her things only a woman can,  then he will pay for her to go home as part of the wagon train in the spring.  Marty agrees as she has no other option.

Clark is a man with a strong faith in God.  He makes time to worship the Lord and does so from his heart.  Even when things are not well in Clark’s world, his trust in the Lord  sustains him.

{Movie Quote}
Clark Davis: Missy could fall down and hurt herself, even if I’m walking right there beside her. That doesn’t mean that I allowed it   to happen. She knows, as far as unconditional love, I’ll pick her up and I’ll carry her. I’ll try to heal her. I’ll cry when she cries. And I’ll rejoice when she is well. In all the moments of my life, God has been right there beside me. The truth of God’s love is not that he allows bad things to happen. It’s His promise that he’ll be there with us when they do.

Clark loves his little girl, and wants to help her through the grief of her mother’s death, and to become the woman she needs to be. He knows that even if she doesn’t want it at first, her time with Marty with be beneficial to her life.

As Clark begins to fall in love Marty, his quiet love for her, demonstrated so softly through his care for her, begins to win Marty over too.  But he is not forceful, and because of his willingness to stick to the bargain he promised, he doesn’t even ask her to stay…at least not until he has reason to believe that she might want to stay.

Sharing his faith.

The actor they chose for Clark is PERFECT for the role. Dale Midkiff’s portrays this character with the word Gentleman written all over him.

I highly recommend both the book and the movie.

One thought on “Character Friday – Clark Davis

  1. Pingback: Character Friday – Catherine Holt « ransomed by one

Leave a reply

