Day 14 – A Vacation You Would Like To Take

A Vacation I would like to take.

I’ve been on a lot of trips.  (not all of them vacations) because my Dad’s job makes it cheaper for us to travel. I have been to over thirty states, five countries (if you include America), and 3 different continents.  But if I could go anywhere…..

I’d go back to South Africa.

Reasons why (in NO particular order):

#1. Have you ever seen the movie “Faith Like Potatoes”?  it was filmed in the same Zulu-Natal area that our friends live.  Lovely, lovely landscape. Cape Town is beautiful as well. I haven’t really seen the mountains, but I’m sure they are great.



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#2. I can do mission work (although, I really can do that anywhere.) The people are simply beautiful.   I especially loved working with the children.

 

 

 

 



     


#3. The Zulu language is amazing. I can say one word in it, but I think that it’s impossible to write the Zulu pronunciation of it in English.

#4. South African accents are hilarious. I always start using one while I’m there. You should hear me, no “er” sounds for me as long as I’m in SA.  And it’s pretty funny hearing them making fun of American accents.  🙂  Good times.

But mostly because of these people.  We’ve known them for about ten years now, and i have been blessed with a chance to meet them in person three times.   Greg & Alice, (they’re going to be proud of me for using those names) and their children Daniel (Boy), Jessica (Gracie), Megan (Meg), Hannah, Rebecca (Boo), and Michaela (Mouse).  Jessica and Megan especially have become my good friends.  I miss them so much.  Praise the Lord for the internet!


(These are really old photos of their family, taken during our last visit in 2008)

Proverbs 27:9
Ointment and perfume delight the heart, 
And the sweetness of a man’s friend gives delight by hearty counsel.

One thought on “Day 14 – A Vacation You Would Like To Take

Leave a reply

