What Do I Know of Holy?

It can be easy for me to become prideful. It think to myself, “You know, I’m pretty spiritual. I’ve been learning about God and studying the Bible for about as long as I have been able to chew food. That’s a lot more than most people can say. I have this God thing figured out.”

I talk to God several times each day. But how often do I take time to listen to Him? To let myself be vulnerable to Him?

I, a girl who has loved God all her life, cannot claim to know everything about such a mighty, powerful, strong, all-encompassing God. Who gave life its very name and who spoke her little self into motion.

What do I know of Him? He sees straight through all my facades and pretensions.

Sure, I do know some about Him. I’m not naive to His greatness, and I have sought after Him and He has revealed a lot to me, (1 Cor. 2:10) but I must admit to myself that I don’t have Him figured out. He always will have more to reveal to me.

It’s like looking up into the sky and thinking, “This sky is big, there sure are a lot of stars.” Then, you look through a telescope and discover millions of more stars. “Wow,” you say, impressed. “There are more stars than I thought. This sky holds more than the eye can see.”
But then, you look at some of the Hubble images, and your mind is completely blown. There are billions and billions of stars and galaxies and galaxies light years away from your tiny speck of a planet, which is so small it doesn’t even deserve a spot on the map.

Do you know how God described the creation of these stars?

“He made the stars also.”

Yep, that’s all it says in Genesis 1:16b. It takes up less than one verse.

He is more powerful than our little brains will ever be able to fathom as long as we reside on this dot we call earth.

What do we know of His love?
What do we know of His mercy?
What do we know of His might?

What we do know is that He is all those things, Love, Truth, Grace, Mercy, and that he has showered them on us, even if we can’t understand them completely and tend to waive Him off as something small. He still loves us beyond all measure. He is still crazy about us even when we’re bored of Him. When we think that we know all there is to know about God. (What a silly thought that is BTW.) He remains the same. His gentleness and patience never end because He understands our frailty.

1 Corinthians 2:7-10
But we speak the wisdom of God in a mystery, the hidden wisdom which God ordained before the ages for our glory, which none of the rulers of this age knew; for had they known, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. 
But as it is written:

“ Eye has not seen, nor ear heard,
 nor have entered into the heart of man
 the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.”
But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.

Isaiah 64:3-4
When You did awesome things for which we did not look, 
You came down,

The mountains shook at Your presence. 
 For since the beginning of the world 
men have not heard nor perceived by the ear, 
nor has the eye seen any God besides You, 
Who acts for the one who waits for Him.

Job 38:4-11
“ Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?

Tell Me, if you have understanding.
Who determined its measurements?

Surely you know!

Or who stretched the line upon it?
To what were its foundations fastened?
 Or who laid its cornerstone,
When the morning stars sang together,
 and all the sons of God shouted for joy?
“Or who shut in the sea with doors,
 when it burst forth and issued from the womb;
When I made the clouds its garment,
 and thick darkness its swaddling band;
When I fixed My limit for it,
 and set bars and doors;
When I said,

 ‘This far you may come, but no farther, 
and here your proud waves must stop!’

This whole chapter is good. Read it here: http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Job%2038&version=NKJV

When I think of that He really is, (not just what my mind has created Him to be) I am driven to humility. My heart falls on its knees in worship. I praise the Lord every time He reminds me of His glory. He is truly to be praised.

I made You promises a thousand times
I tried to hear from Heaven
But I talked the whole time
I think I made You too small
I never feared You at all No
If You touched my face would I know You?
Looked into my eyes could I behold You?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

I guess I thought that I had figured You out
I knew all the stories and I learned to talk about
How You were mighty to save
Those were only empty words on a page
Then I caught a glimpse of who You might be
The slightest hint of You brought me down to my knees

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?

Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

(CHORUS 2)
What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of wounds that will heal my shame?
And a God who gave life “its” name?
What do I know of Holy?
Of the One who the angels praise?
All creation knows Your name
On earth and heaven above
What do I know of this love?

(CHORUS)
What do I know of You
Who spoke me into motion?
Where have I even stood
But the shore along Your ocean?
Are You fire? Are You fury?
Are You sacred? Are You beautiful?
What do I know? What do I know of Holy?

What do I know of Holy?
What do I know of Holy?

One thought on “What Do I Know of Holy?

Leave a reply

