Music Wednesday – Your Heart

I listened to this song for the first time last week, and I bought it a couple of days later.

The story of David is such a beautiful one. David was one amazing guy. He messed up in some really big ways, and yet, God still called him a man after His Own heart.

Even in the middle of David’s struggles, he cried out to God.  In Psalm 51 we read the anguish in his heart after his sin with Bathsheba. He was truly, truly repentant. He knew that it was against God that he had sinned. It broke his heart.

To David, it didn’t really matter whether he was King or if He was a shepherd. I’m sure that he would have been content either way, if he knew that it was what God had called him to.

When he fought Goliath, it was not to bring honor to himself, it was because he was blaspheming the holy name of God. And David was in love with God.

David always sought to be more like the Lord. In Psalm 25 he cried, “Show me your ways, LORD, teach me your paths. Guide me in your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in you all day long.”

Psalm 70: 4

May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you!
May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!”

Psalm 103:17-19

But the steadfast love of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him,
and his righteousness to children’s children,
to those who keep his covenant
and remember to do his commandments.
The LORD has established his throne in the heavens, and his kingdom rules over all.

Doesn’t that just strike up passion within your chest?  A burning desire to chase more and more after the things of God? To know more of His word?

No matter what we become, or what job we have, or if we do anything that makes us great or famous, all that should matter to us should be the question, “God, when others look at me, do they see that my heart looks like Your heart?”

At the end of the day, that’s all we should care about hearing.

It never was about the oil dripping from my head
I never did dream beyond the pastures I could tend
It never was about the praise, not about the street parade
I didn’t really need a crowd when Goliath fell down

I never meant to woo a king with simple shepherd songs
Or hide away inside a cave, safe from danger’s arms
I never meant to wear a crown, or try to bring armies down
It never was about me and who I hoped to be

At the end of the day, I wanna hear people say
My heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart
When the world looks at me, let them agree
That my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart

I never thought I would be much more than Jesse’s kin
Who would ever dream a king would come from Bethlehem?
I know that I’ve crashed and burned, lives have been overturned
But You redeem everything, yeah, even me

At the end of the day, I want to hear people say
That my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart
When the world looks at me, I pray all they see
Is my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart

Five little stones, or a royal robe
Shepherd or king doesn’t mean a thing
At the end of the day

At the end of the day, I wanna hear people say
That my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart
Unashamed I will dance, In Your name, lift my hands
‘Til my heart looks like Your heart, my heart looks like Your heart

Chris Tomlin / Nordeman/Herms

 

One thought on “Music Wednesday – Your Heart

Leave a reply

