Day Twenty-Eight – A Scar You Have and Its Story

One time, I did a really dumb thing.

This dumb thing resulted in a little scar the shape  of…well, we’ll get to that in a moment.

A have a few scars on my feet. Most of them are from uncomfortable shoes. (Ahem.) But one of them is not.

The scar has resided on my foot ever since the day I decided to wear flip-flops to the shooting range.

I learned that lesson the hard way.

My sister started shooting a Ruger 10/22 beside me, and did not call out “Fire in the hole!” To let us know that she was about to shoot.  One of the hot casings flew out and landed on my tender flesh.  I got it off quickly, but it still left a bullet shaped wound.  I’ve used scar cream, and it has now faded a good bit. A fact for which I am very thankful.

But today I was thinking, “this is a funny story, but what about the man who was born to take a scar on His foot?”

My faded scar seems pretty insignificant next to the ones I will see one day in the hands and feet of Jesus. He lived for thirty-three years knowing that one day nails would be driven into Him, and that the marks they left would remain forever.

His scars have a story.

This reminds me of one of my favorite song lyrics:
“There were scars before my scars, love written on the hands that hung the stars, hope living in the blood that was spilled for me.” – JJ Heller

How deep was His love for us, that He would pay our ransom in such a physical, painful way.

Because of those scars, we live.

Isaiah 53:4-6
Surely he has borne our griefs
 and carried our sorrows;
  yet we esteemed him stricken,
 smitten by God, and afflicted.
 But he was wounded for our transgressions;
 he was crushed for our iniquities;
 upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace,
 and with his stripes we are healed. 
All we like sheep have gone astray;
 we have turned—every one—to his own way;  and the LORD has laid on him
 the iniquity of us all.

1 Peter 2:23-25
When he was reviled, he did not revile in return; when he suffered, he did not threaten, but continued entrusting himself to him who judges justly.  He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. For you were straying like sheep, but have now returned to the Shepherd and Overseer of your souls.

9 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Eight – A Scar You Have and Its Story

  1. Mamie, you are a beautiful writer. I am so glad you posted this today 🙂 It blessed me so much. Stay strong in the Lord sweet girl– miss you and your family dearly! All my love– Kati

Leave a reply

