Music Wednesday – Dancing in the Minefields

I don’t know about you, but one of the things that sends delightful shivers down my back is the sight of an old couple, skin no longer smooth and fresh from the sunrise…but shriveled as the sunset begins, tenderly holding hands.

We often associate the idea of “being in love” with only young people.  People who are discovering love, when the newness of it all has them consumed and they’ve hardly had any rough times in their relationship.  I’m not saying that stage of love has no merit, Oh no, not at all! It is a beautiful time that should be treasured deeply. But when I am looking at how I am to love my husband (one day down the road, Lord willing), and I don’t mean just an in-and-out sort of love, but truly cherishing everything about him, I want to look to those who have plowed through all the life’s trials and see how they came out… still holding hands.  A love that suffers long, and is kind. (1 Cor. 13:4a) A love that bears all things, that believes all things, that hopes all things, and that endures all things. (1 Cor. 13:7)

An old couple clasping palms demonstrates to the world that you can still be in love even after the sheen seems to have worn off.  Even when neither of them have done everything perfectly (which by-the-way, no one ever does), and they’ve each seen all of each other’s faults and weaknesses. One of my absolute favorite singer/songwriters, Andrew Peterson, calls this “Dancing in the Minefields.”

And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re sailing in the storm
This is harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for.

How can this be done? Can we walk through the minefields of life and still be dancing?  How can we stay faithful to the end?  Since I’ve haven’t done this myself yet 😉 I can’t claim to know the answer.  Praise the Lord the answers are in His word.

Eph. 4:1-3
I therefore, a prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk in a manner worthy of the calling to which you have been called, with all humility and gentleness, with patience, bearing with one another in love, eager to maintain the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

Galatians 6:2
Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

Phil. 2:3-4
Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves. Each of you should look not only to your own interests, but also to the interests of others.

Deut. 31:8
It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” {We don’t have to do it on our own, God will always be with us!}

Girls my age rarely consider this God-ordained privilege (Well, my particular friends might be, but not most girls.). So why do I care right now?

It’s because I’m thinking long-term.  I want to have a vision.  When I say “I do” I don’t want that commitment to just be for as long as I “feel like it.”  I want to know that we will be fighting for our love until the day we die.  No matter how many minefields we have to cross.

Build yourself up now before you ever make your vows of marriage.  Today, Make a covenant in your heart to always stick it out with your spouse.  To be faithful. To let love wash over a multitude of things. (1 Peter 4:8)

This cannot be done without God’s help.  In our unfaithfulness, He is faithful, and He will hold us up and help us to be the kind of spouse that he wants us to be.

~~~

I was nineteen, you were twenty-one
The year we got engaged
Everyone said we were much too young
But we did it anyway

We bought our rings for forty each
From a pawn shop down the road
We made our vows and took the leap
Now fifteen years ago

We went dancing in the minefields
We went sailing in the storm
And it was harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for

“I do” are the two most famous last words
The beginning of the end
But to lose your life for another I’ve heard
Is a good place to begin
‘Cause the only way to find your life
Is to lay your own life down
And I believe it’s an easy price
For the life that we have found

And we’re dancing in the minefields
We’re sailing in the storm
This is harder than we dreamed
But I believe that’s what the promise is for

So when I lose my way, find me
When I loose love’s chains, bind me
At the end of all my faith, till the end of all my days
When I forget my name, remind me

‘Cause we bear the light of the Son of Man
So there’s nothing left to fear
So I’ll walk with you in the shadowlands
Till the shadows disappear

‘Cause he promised not to leave us
And his promises are true
So in the face of all this chaos, baby,
I can dance with you

I think that Andrew Peterson summed it up beautifully in his song.  (Even if he is not an old man and has only been married for 15 years. :-))  Please watch the music video below, listen to the wonderful song and watch some faithful old couples dance.

8 thoughts on “Music Wednesday – Dancing in the Minefields

  1. This makes me want to cry. I just watched as my great-grandparents were told they lost their daughter to a stroke very suddenly and unexpected. As I watched their hearts break they held hands and it was so sweet to see their devotion to each other through rough times and through this time as well.

    I have never seen anything like it and it is what I desire to have, should the Lord give me a husband. ❤

    Tiff

  2. How blessed you are Mamie Rose to possess this wisdom before you enter into the covenant of marriage! As you have so beautifully written, It is clear you understand and believe with of all your heart what is true from God’s point of view. You will be spared much disappointment and heartbreak by deciding ahead of time to conduct your life according to His plan. I am praying that, in the future, (with the help of God’s divine providence) He will join you together with exactly the right husband. When he does you will know. 🙂 Whomever that may be, will be an incredibly blessed mate!! I am thankful that your Mom and Dad are doing an awesome job of teaching you the most important lessons for living a successful, fruitful life…and you get it!

  3. I am reading Lifestories by Mark Hall, and it is the stories behind the songs from Casting Crowns’ first 2 albums. I admit, at first I thought it would be a little boring, but it is SO good, and so encouraging. I think you would really like it!

  4. Pingback: Concert time :-) « ransomed by one

Leave a reply

