Speechless

In three  weeks, I’m going to see Steven Curtis Chapman, Josh Wilson, and Andrew Peterson together in concert. *Happy dance!!!*  It’s gonna be awesome.

So for the next three Music Wednesdays, I’m going to post a song by each of these guys. Today is Steven Curtis Chapman’s turn.

 

This is one of his older songs. But it’s a totally new, recreated version of it. (That’s what his latest album was all about, recreating his old songs.)

In an interview about his new CD, Mr. Chapman said that going back over his old songs has been amazing. He understands their meaning way better now than he did when he actually wrote them! He said, “I didn’t know what I was talking about about back then, but now, having been though the things I have, I truly am speechless.”

 

So here you have it, the Recreated version of “Speechless”

 

Words fall like drops of rain
My lips are like clouds
I say so many things
Trying to figure you out
But as mercy opens my eyes
My words are stolen away
With this breathtaking view of your grace

And I am speechless I’m astonished and amazed
I am silenced by your wondrous grace
You have saved me
You have raised me from the grave
And I am speechless in your presence now
I’m astounded as I consider how
You have shown us
A love that leaves us speechless

So what kind of love could this be
That would trade heaven’s throne for a cross
And to think you still celebrate
Over finding just one who was lost
And to know you rejoice over us
The God of this whole universe
It’s a story that’s too great for words

Oh how great is the love
The father has lavished upon us
That we should be called
The sons and the daughters of god

We are speechless so amazed
We stand in awe of your grace
We stand in awe of your mercy
You have saved us
We stand in awe of your love
From the grave
We are speechless

We are speechless in your presence now
We stand in awe of your cross
We’re astounded as we consider how
We stand in awe of your power
You have shown us
A love that leaves us speechless
We are speechless

I am speechless

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Speechless

  1. OH my goodness GRACIOUS could I possibly be more jealous of someone going to a concert?!?!? Wow–I would LOVE to go!!! Be sure to write all about it when you get back. 🙂 I love SCC’s music, and Speechless is one of my favorite songs of his. 🙂

Leave a reply

