My Favorite Actor, And How I Got To Meet Him (a narrative)

First off, I just want to say that I’m not trying to make you guys jealous. But I thought you might like to read about something really cool that happened to me today.

Here’s the scene: It’s the last day of the Independent Christian Filmmakers Academy.(We’re here for the Festival, which starts tomorrow.) Bigwigs such as Doug Phillips and Steven Kendrick are walking around the hotel we’re staying at.

We’re chilling in the lobby with our computers, waiting for our room to be ready. One of my family members says to me, “Hey look, Kirk Cameron is over there!”

I look up, and sure enough, Kirk Cameron and his son Jack are standing about 30 feet away from us. (This is no big surprise, ’cause I knew he was going to be here.)

I go into complete starstruck-ness.

Yes, yes…I know that he’s just a human like you and me, but at the same time, he is my favorite actor and I respect him and the stuff he’s doing a LOT.

So, here’s what I do. On my computer, I open up the webpage for his new movie, MONUMENTAL. I also turn up my screen’s brightness and put the computer at an angle that he could see if he were to look over. I casual click around on the website, making sure that the homepage stays in view. (Is this horrible of me or what?!)

“Hey, that looks like a pretty good movie.” A very familiar voice says beside me. I turn to see Mike Seaver…Buck Williams…Caleb Holt…I mean Kirk Cameron… standing beside my chair.

“Yes it does.” I reply.

“But I hear that the guy in it is kinda flaky.” he says with a smile.

My mom then gets up and introduces herself, and we continue to chat about the movie. I ask him what his biggest hope for Monumental is, and mom asks how we can help promote the film. He shows us some stuff on my computer that we can do.

All in all, it was a really, really, cool encounter. I’m so thankful that God blessed us with that special gift. Mr. Cameron is a very genuine, super nice guy. he is truly doing some great things for the Lord with his various ministries.

Please check out his new movie about passing the torch of Christianity down from generation to generation, and go see it in theaters on March 27th. (It’s a one day event.)

6 thoughts on “My Favorite Actor, And How I Got To Meet Him (a narrative)

  1. So awesome, Mamie. I must say that I am proud of your quick thinking in looking up his movie on your computer. Kirk Cameron was my favorite actor long before you were born. I had a poster of him hanging on my wall when I was in high school. My childhood crush has passed. Now I have a genuine respect for his acting and his faith. The first time I watched “Fireproof” I was totally distracted by the fact that I was watching Kirk Cameron as a man and not a teenager. Now that movie is a definite favorite in our house.

  2. Wow, wow, and wow again! I think that is the funniest and most creative way to get the attention of somebody famous…and what he said was hilarious!! What an incredible memory! 🙂

  3. Pingback: SAICFF – 2013 « ransomed by one

Leave a reply

