The Roller Coaster

A couple of weeks ago, I rode a Roller Coaster. (This was not my first time, I’ve done so in the past.)

First, we rode a big, but simple one. I didn’t enjoy the long, slow pull up, but after that it was FUN!

Then, my sister and brother wanted to ride one that looked horrific.

On this ride, they strap you into a seat with a harness, but your legs are hanging down free with nothing to protect them. Plus you go really fast upside down multiple times, twisting and turning. It looks like a nightmare when you’re watching it. Trust me.

Thing is, I’d promised my sister that I’d go on a ride exactly like this. Thankfully my brother was able to go with her the first time as I was a little too chicken.

A worker informed me that the ride was only about 50 seconds long, so I knew I didn’t have to be afraid of it dragging on and on. I reasoned to myself that I could endure it once, so I could I wouldn’t look like a wimp.

My siblings got off the ride and ran over raving about how great it was and that it wasn’t really that scary once you were on it. So, I eagerly jumped on with them for my one just-so-I-can-say-I-did-it ride.

As soon as my harness was strapped and there was no going back, I of course had those “oh no, what have I gotten myself into?!” thoughts. But then it began.

The ride was INCREDIBLE.

It’s amazing how much less scary it was once I was on it. Once I was no longer watching others do it.

I was in the ride. I was flying through the air, seeing the Texas landscape from very interesting angles. All the force on my body made me feel like I was in a little airplane like my Dad flies.

That harness was like God’s hand. It was the only thing that kept me from falling to my death during that tumultuous ride.

Even when life is throwing us through things that could be scary and horrific, His hand holds us tight, keeping us safe, not letting us fly off the ride.

I ended up riding that particular Roller Coaster three times. Including once in the very front. 🙂

This is a picture of the Roller Coaster we rode, dubbed “The Great White.”

~

Psalm 139:9-12

If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,

even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.  

If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,”

even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day,

for darkness is as light with you.

2 thoughts on “The Roller Coaster

Leave a reply

