The Dove Awards

The Dove Awards are next week. And while I’m not totally into Christians judging each other and stuff, I still think it’s a fun way to recognize the artists’ efforts and talents, and ultimately, a way to glorify the God, the One we’re singing for.

Here’s a list of the nominees in the top categories and my choice of a winner for each. I’ll update afterwards to let you know how many I picked correctly. 🙂

Song of the Year
Song title; artist; writer;
Alive; Natalie Grant; Bernie Herms, Nichole Nordeman;
Blessings; Laura Story; Laura Story;
Celebrate Me Home; Perrys; Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun;
Glorious Day (Living He Loved Me); Mark Hall, Michael Bleecker;
Hold Me; Jamie Grace; Jamie Grace Harper, Toby McKeehan, Christopher Stevens;
I Smile; Kirk Franklin; Kirk Franklin, James Harris, Terry Lewis, Fred Tackett;
I’ve Been Here Before; Ernie Haase & Signature Sound; Ernie Haase, Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun;
Please Forgive Me; Gaither Vocal Band; Gerald Crabb;
Who Am I; Jason Crabb; Rusty Goodman;
Your Great Name; Natalie Grant; Krissy Nordhoff, Michael Neale;

My vote: Blessings

Male Vocalist of the Year
Chris August
Chris Tomlin
Jason Crabb
Kirk Franklin
Steven Curtis Chapman

My vote: I don’t have a huge opinion this year, Chris August or SCC.

Female Vocalist of the Year
Francesca Battistelli
Kari Jobe
Laura Story
Mandisa
Natalie Grant

My vote: Mandisa – We bought her new album in December, and it is awesome.

Group of the Year
Casting Crowns
David Crowder*Band
Gaither Vocal Band
NEEDTOBREATHE
The Isaacs

My vote: David Crowder*Band – They retired the band as of this winter,  so I really think they should win it as kind of a “life-time achievement” award.

 
Artist of the Year
Casting Crowns
Jason Crabb
Laura Story
Lecrae
The Isaacs

My vote: Lecrae – all the way baby! This dude is LEGIT. He’s a man totally in love with Jesus.

New Artist of the Year
Award given to the recepient
Beyond The Ashes
Dara Maclean
Jamie-Grace
Royal Tailor
The City Harmonic

My vote: Royal Tailor – I’ve only heard about 3 songs by them (two of which I own), but I can tell they’ve got a lot of talent and they seem pretty serious about their faith.

Producer of the Year
Bernie Herms, Brown Bannister
Ed Cash
Ian Eskelin
Michael Sykes
Wayne Haun

My vote: Bernie Herms, Brown Bannister – Their project was the incredible CD “The Story” if you haven’t heard any of the songs on it, you’re missing out. click here, here, here, here, and here to listen to my top five favorite songs from it.

Leave a reply

