My Cup Ran Over…

We’re home from Colorado. It was a blast.

It almost didn’t work out because of scheduling issues, but in the end God worked it out. Don’t you just love it when He does cool stuff like that?

I got to meet a lady named Kathy Buchanan. She writes Adventures in Odyssey episodes, adapts books into scripts for Lamplighter Theater and has written some books and a devotional.

To summarize, she is a very brilliant writer.

She kindly agreed to meet with me and my Mom, and gave us tips about writing and such.I was so jittery with excitement that day…it was a really huge blessing.

And then, if my cup wasn’t full enough, the next day, it overflowed.

We wanted to go the the Focus on the Family headquarters because one of my little sisters had not been there yet (the rest of us had been there last year.) And we were going back and forth as to whether or not to go that day, or wait until the next day. We decided to go that morning, and do some shopping and go for a walk afterwards. However, when we showed up at FoF, there was a sign on the door stating that they were closed until after lunch because it was the National Day of Prayer, and all of the staff was going to service in the chapelteria.(cool name, huh?) Guests were welcome to come.

We took a minute to decide what to do, then figured that it can’t get much better than to celebrate the National Day of Prayer at the headquarters of one of the biggest Christians organizations in America? So we went.

The service was perfect. The worship was lead by this gifted music pastor from a nearby Church, and several people got up and prayed for specific areas. (Government, Media, Church, etc.)  My spirit was very blessed.

Before it started however, I started looking around for any AIO people that I might recognize. I was not disappointed. Writer/Director Nathan Hoobler came and sat down on our row, and Brock Eastman, one of their main marketing guys, sat about thirty feet from us.

  These people are celebrities to me, so I was sitting there the whole time trying to decide who to go talk to first. Decisions, decisions.

We decided on Brock Eastman. (He’s more of an extrovert, which equals easier to talk to.)

Mom had no idea who these people really were, so I had to be the one to go up and ask him if he was who I thought he was. He was excited to meet us, and started to help us find other Odyssey people to meet. He tracked down Dave Arnold first.

(Dave Arnold on the left, Brock Eastman on the right.)

Then he introduced us to Evan Reedall, another marketing guy, and then took us back to see who else he could find, and show us the offices.

This is Jesse Florea, editor of Clubhouse magazine, and co-host of the Official Adventures in Odyssey Podcast.

(Notice his crazy cubicle. Those are real seats from Mile High stadium.)

He showed us some unpublished magazines that they are working on, and explained the process of how it gets put together and edited. Cool stuff.

He then brought us over to his office, showed us pictures of his little girls, showed us some top secret, unreleased cover artwork (which is now released,) and continued to introduce us to his co-workers.

This is a poster for a book written by him. he gave us a copy and I’m currently halfway done. Be looking for my review.

Then he took us to this place. Most of the writers, directors and producers were getting together to read through a script for album 56. (I was soooo tempted to look at the pages sitting on the table, but I did not. 🙂 )

Left to Right:Jonathan Crowe, Nathan Hoobler, Evan Reedall, My little sisters, Paul McCusker, me, Dave Arnold, and Mom.

This Odyssey Nerd was dancing around inside out of complete excitement.

After the picture we let them get to their work. 🙂

It was such an amazing experience. The best blessings are the ones we aren’t expecting. We just “happened” to be in the right place at the right time. But when you are a child of God, things don’t just “happen,” He is the one who gives us the good things. As a friend pointed out to me after I called her and gushed about how excited I was, it’s like God was making our cups overflow.

After our wonderful tour with Brock Eastman was over, we went over to Whit’s End (as originally planned,) and had lunch.

Wod-Fam-Choc-Sod (World Famous Chocolate Soda) One word: Delicious

We kept running into people we recognized from the AIO Podcasts. This Diane Ingolia, the Hospitality Coordinator for FoF.

The rest of the trip was great. We saw The Avengers.

Despite the fact that I am standing by Thor, my favorites are Captain America and Iron Man. (And Pepper, but she didn’t get a poster.)

And witnessed a beautiful couple’s first kiss. Congrats Andrew and Jennifer!

Sorry for such a long post, I had a lot to catch up on!

One thought on “My Cup Ran Over…

  1. That is so amazing and exciting! Sounds like a great trip!
    Florea’s desk area is crazy awesome!
    I love the photo of y’all with the avengers. =D

Leave a reply

