For Freedom Christ Has Set You Free

If you’re my friend on Facebook, then I’m sure you know that I just arrived home from a week at iGovern, Generation Joshua’s summer camp. It was the exact same camp my sister went to a few weeks ago, only in California this time.

A theme that developed throughout the week during lectures and chapel services was freedom.

 free·dom [free-duhm]

noun

The power or right to act, speak, or think as one wants without hindrance or restraint.

We talked about the incredible gift of freedom we have been blessed with here in America. And about the fact that we need to fight to protect that freedom. Protect freedom by keeping a strong defense system so that we may have peace through strength. And fight control over our lives by passing good legislation, and electing good leaders into office.

We celebrated America’s freedom in an epic way by visiting the Reagan Museum and Air Force One on the 4th of July. I loved that place and can’t wait to show it to my family one day.

But that wasn’t the only kind of freedom that was focused on last week. An even more important form kept coming up during chapel. I don’t think it was even planned.

Well, at least not by man. God planned it.

God desires us to be free. That is why He sent His Son to die so that we might have new life. It is there for us – freedom from sin and bondage. What a glorious thought!

“There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. For the law of the Spirit of life has set you free in Christ Jesus from the law of sin and death.” Romans :1-2

But it is not a freedom to say, “Hey man, we can do whatever we want, ‘cause we have grace covering us, so let’s sin away!”

No! It is freedom from sin, not to sin.

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” – Galatians 5:1

 “For you were called to freedom, brothers. Only do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.” – Galatians 5:13

I’m looking forward to keeping up with my new friends through out this year, and I can’t wait wait to go back next year and see everyone. Generation Joshua is a wonderful organization that I am excited to be involved with. If you’ve never heard of them, I definitely encourage you to check them out.

This is a short video I made of this spectacular week:

6 thoughts on “For Freedom Christ Has Set You Free

  1. Hello Mamie~
    I found your blog (which is great!) through the link GenJ gave in a recent email. I have a question for you concerning iGovern. My cousin, brother and myself are attending West in a couple of weeks (can’t wait). We were wondering how formal the Gala is? From your pictures I saw many girls in dresses and boys in suits, so is that the norm?

    I’ve got mixed responses on the GenJ forums, so I just wanted to know what you would say.

    Thanks so much.

    Alexis B.

    • Hey Alexis! Yes, the Gala is pretty formal. Almost all of the guys wear suits, or at least a jacket and tie. The girls wear nice dresses, similar to what one might where to a formal. If you have questions about the modesty code, you can find it in the iGovern handbook. (If you don’t have that, email Glenn Bertsch and he’ll send it to you.)

      I’m glad you’re going to camp! It’s loads of fun, and you really learn a lot.

  2. Mamie~
    Thanks so much for getting back to me. I couldn’t find a dress that would work for me and the event, so I am thinking that I am going to have to just wear a skirt and nice shirt. I’m not worried about the modesty code (my own personal rules are stricker than theirs!).
    Again, thank you for the help. I’m really looking forward to iGovern.

    Alexis B.

Leave a reply

