I Am Going to College

I am neither of the view that all girls should go to college no matter what.

OR

That all girls should stay home.

It all depends on what God calls you to do. It’s not something we can just put in a box and label.

I’m not the sort of girl who has huge aspirations to have a career all my own outside of being a Wife and a Momma one day down the road. (Lord willing of course.) So college to me is not about that. Plus, I love my family and I enjoy serving them. So for that reason, I’ve never been set on going to college. I never said to someone when I was growing up, “I want to go to college.” That just wasn’t me.

I do not believe that one has to go to college to find self worth, or to be a “qualified” person for a job.

So why am I going?

For right now, my parents and I have decided that it will be a good experience for me to attend college. Hopefully I will gain some skills, make connections that will last me a lifetime, and be a bright light for Jesus.

I pray that the Lord will use this experience to shape and mold me into the woman that He wants me to be.

I’ll be working towards a journalism major. And I’ll actually be on campus, not studying online. Our state college is only half an hour away, and Lord blessed me with the ability to get a good ACT score, and I have received enough scholarship money to basically pay for all of it at the moment.

It is quite possible that I will never finish my degree, depending on what God’s plan for me is. (He could bring Prince Charming along, who knows? 🙂 )

I will have the best of both worlds. I will be attending college, but also living at home and helping my family every day.  I’m so glad I get to still do this, for my family is my first priority.

Please pray that I will be given opportunities to share Jesus’ love with my classmates and professors.

Please pray that I do well in my studies. As a homeschooler-who-never-went-to-school, the transition will probably be a little hard, since I’m used to doing things very differently.

 

116,

Mamie

10 thoughts on “I Am Going to College

  1. Congratulations Mamie! You’ve worked hard, and I know you will do well. I will be praying for protection and strength, and that all of God’s best plans for you will come to pass at this important season of transition in your life. It will be a very interesting experience for you! You are blessed to be able to continue to live at home and have the support of your family. It was like that for your Aunt Pauline. She had not aspired to a career or going to college, and lived at home until she married. God bless you dear girl. Love, Grammy Lou

  2. I know you’ll be an amazing addition to the college campus, Mamie! You are such a sweetie and so bright and love Jesus so much…I say L’Chaim! 🙂

Leave a reply

