Is It Even Worth It?

Sometimes, when waging a war against evil, you don’t win every battle.

Does that mean that your efforts were futile? Does it mean that all the work you did was in vein?

Some might say “yes.”

But I beg to differ.

Because fighting for truth is never for nothing.

Last Friday, mom, Bridget, Elijah, and I flew to St. Louis, MO to be a part of a Generation Joshua SAT. {Student Action Team.} There were several around the country. Our group (consisting of about 130 people.) was assigned to work on the Todd Akin for U.S. Senate campaign.

If you know anything about the Senatorial races this year, than you know about controversy surrounding Mr. Akin and the way he misspoke in an interview creating a nationwide stir.
You know how the media is. All a person has to do is make one stupid error, and it’s all over.

So we all knew going in that this was going to be a particularly hard battle.

And let me tell ya.
It was.

Our team director, Andrew Ferguson, speaking to the group (Or at least part of us, the rest wouldn’t fit in the picture.)

Our SAT, consisting mostly of home schooled, high schoolers, worked hard.

We each made hundreds of phone calls to voters, hundreds of door-to-door contacts, and sign waved on the final day.

It felt good to work so intensely. {Phone-banking in our hotel.}

I was mocked by strangers for supporting this candidate.

Someone on a phone said to me:
“You’re a sick person and should seek professional help immediately (for supporting Todd Akin.)”

That phone call shook me up, and I dearly wanted to switch back to the less specific phone script. One that just reminded people to get out and vote, rather than actually endorsing a candidate.

One that wouldn’t bring on the haters.

But I thought to myself, “The guys here on my team can’t do what I can do. They can’t say to someone, ‘I’m a woman who stands with Todd Akin.’ I can. This is important. I’ve got to keep going.”

And so I did. As did many other young ladies with me. As one of the fathers on the team said, “this race is so clearly a struggle of good against evil.”

To any of you who still wonder about Todd Akin, I met him and was in his presence twice. He is the real deal. What people have said about his is oh so not true. He truly cares about women’s health and safety, along with his many other solid, Christian, conservative issues. He is a good man.

The divided the SAT into several smaller groups. We were on Team Golf. My teammates (consisting of Carlstroms, and a couple other families) rocked. Everyone worked so hard, and we got the most houses on the last day.

We were privileged to get to watch the election votes come in at Mr. Akin’s watch party. A LOT of people worked for months. I stand in awe of them.
Mr. Akin did not win. But I do not count this race an entire loss. We stood up for what was right. And that makes it worth it.
One cool thing that happened election night was the fact that Stephen Byrum (of Fearless Productions)and I were interviewed about Generation Joshua. I enjoy interviews. And Generation Joshua.

In the end, this world will fail. We already know that. But that does not mean that we can give up. We must fight for our freedom. We must proclaim the truth. We must seek the light.

The day before the election, all of us were called in from the field because Mr. Akin himself was coming to speak to us at our hotel. Here’s a video with a little of what he said to us:

9 thoughts on “Is It Even Worth It?

  1. Aw, good to see another SAT’s goings-on. 🙂 Like you said, I wouldn’t have traded it for the world. So cool that you guys got to work for a particular candidate–especially one like Mr. Aikin that had so much controversy surrounding him. 🙂

  2. Glad you posted this Mamie. I was wondering how you all felt after this experience, knowing full well the kind of opposition you faced. Also good to know you will not be deterred. It is encouraging to hear that your goal is to keep standing for the truth,no matter what. We’re living in a time where evil is manifesting itself in a blatant (sometimes uncivilized way)everywhere we turn. The antidote is exposing it for all to see, walking in love, and presenting an alternative. The righteous will shine more brightly as we look forward to return of The King of Kings! Someone said recently that soon our money won’t be worth much, but “TRUTH WILL BE WORTH A FORTUNE.”

  3. Sounds like an amazing experience. What an incredible opportunity y’all had to be a part of it!
    I have to ask, which hotel did you stay in? Because, if I’m not mistaken, that’s the Drury Inn in either Cape Girardeau or Arnold/STL. We’ve stayed there many, many times on the way to see Mama’s family in Iowa and I recognized the lights. 🙂

  4. Hey! I really enjoyed seeing all the pictures. 🙂 I was on the same SAT as yall but we never met. I’m Victory. Wondering if you guys are coming to iGovern East this year!

Leave a reply

