That word, it does not mean what it used to mean….

I used to think it was a word that carried absolutely no good meaning whatsoever.

Well I never want to be considered that.I thought.  As my little goody-two-shoes “Good Kid”  brain learned its vocabulary.

The word is REBEL.

But do you know what I’m discovering? That word, it does not mean what it used to mean. What I used to think of as actions performed by a rebel, are now embraced and considered socially acceptable. Even normal.
There are no more rebels in the world’s eyes, except for people like me.

A Christian.

Christians are the true rebels. The ones rejecting accepted sins and pursuing God’s ways instead. The ones recklessly loving, laying down our lives.

Or at least we should be.

Would our non-Christian friends/acquaintances call us “rebels” to worldly living? If not, maybe we should reevaluate our way of life.

The world thinks we’re crazy and laugh in our face at our “intolerance.”

“For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.” –  1 Cor. 1:18

I’m not talking about legalism or man-made holiness, far from it! I’m talking about a body who can be recognized as different. People who are willing to say “no, I’m not going to do or even condone/accept that action.” This world is crumbling, let us be the ones singing a rebel song of truth from underneath the ruble of death.

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.” – 1 Peter 2:9

What agreement is there between the temple of God and idols?
For we are the temple of the living God. As God has said:

“I will live with them
    and walk among them,
and I will be their God,
    and they will be my people.”

Therefore,

“Come out from them
    and be separate,
says the Lord.
Touch no unclean thing,
    and I will receive you.”

And,

“I will be a Father to you,
    and you will be my sons and daughters,
says the Lord Almighty.”
-2 Cor. 6:16-18

I am far from perfect. I sin every.single.day.  But as a Christian, I need to daily counteract the rebellion of my flesh with rebellion to evil. It’s hard. But it is worth it.
Join with me, will ya? Together, let us redefine what the word “rebel” means. Let us cast off the sin which so easily entangles us and fight for the truth and beauty found in the light of Christ.
~Mamie’s Musings, 2013
2 thoughts on “That word, it does not mean what it used to mean….

Leave a reply

