Verse for the Year {2013}

Last year, the Lord gave me a verse. It sustained me through some pretty tough days, and helped me find joy in the journey.

Though I walk in the midst of trouble,
    you preserve my life;
you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies,
    and your right hand delivers me.
 The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me;
    your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.
    Do not forsake the work of your hands.

Psalm 138:7

That little verse did so much to speak the truth over me. My trust in God grew so strong just by meditating on it. The promise it speaks of is forever tattooed on my soul.

Last week I was reading an article in the Rabbit Room and a verse caught my attention. I’d been looking for a verse to memorize, but was struggling to find a special one to start the year off. (By “special” I mean one I wasn’t already familiar with, and really rang true to my life.) And thus this became my verse for 2013. Funny how God finds ways of bring us to specific scripture when we are seeking for it even just a little bit.

Thus says the Lord:
“Stand by the roads, and look,
    and ask for the ancient paths,
where the good way is; and walk in it,
    and find rest for your souls.

Jeremiah 6:16

I’m excited to memorize this command/promise and meditate on it all year. Finding a verse for each new year is definitely going to become a habit of mine.

Leave a reply

